Support line (toll-free) (844) 835-4325 | Events help (608) 828-8852

Lung Cancer Research Foundation (merged with Free to Breathe)

participant Login

Lung Cancer Info

Types of Lung Cancer

Share |

The two main types of lung cancer are: small-cell lung cancer (SCLC) and non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC).

Non-small cell lung cancer

The most common sub-types of NSCLC based on histology are:

The histology of your lung cancer can be determined by a pathologist who looks at sample of your tumor with a microscope. 

There are also other, less common sub-types of NSCLC.

If you have NSCLC, it is important to know your subtype so that your medical team can develop the right treatment plan for you. The majority of lung cancers (about eight out of 10) are NSCLC, and most cases of NSCLC (about five out of 10) are adenocarcinoma.

Small cell lung cancer

Small-cell lung cancers tend to grow and spread more rapidly and cause symptoms sooner than NSCLC. For these reasons, treatments for SCLC may differ from those for NSCLC.

Learn more about NSCLC and SCLC treatments.

Downloadable Resource

Personalized Care PlanThe Personal Lung Cancer Profile is a visual guide patients can bring to their doctors to help them discuss the stage and location of their lung cancer, and the recommended treatment plan.

Download (PDF) >




This information is not designed to be a substitute for medical advice provided by your treatment team.
Last updated 5/2016

©2018 Lung Cancer Research Foundation | Federal Tax ID #14-1935776 | LCRF is a 501(c)(3) public charity.